Special Mani/Pedi

Normally I’m not one to pay money to have someone else paint my nails when I can do a perfectly good job myself, but this weekend when I passed a nail salon in the Flushing New World Mall, I couldn’t resist! The nail salon had a display of colorful beads and rhinestones in the window, and you can’t find this just anywhere. This salon will paint pretty much any design you want on your nails, and embellish them with rhinestones, if you want. I chose a simple design, but I saw many with complex teddy bears, flowers, and even animal print designs!

I was very happy with my rhinestone flower pedicure, and the woman at the salon even took care to paint detailed petals on the flower. And it ended up costing less than any pedicure you could get in Manhattan! If you’re looking for an extra reason to go get a pedicure like this, the food court downstairs is filled with amazing (and cheap) authentic Chinese food!

When I got home, I was so excited about my pedicure, that I decided to try out a nail art pen my mom had sent me. I didn’t want to go overboard with the designs, so I did a french manicure to test out the pen, and I have to say it worked surprisingly well! The nail polish came out of the pen smoothly and not too fast, but the right hand was a little harder with the pen than with a normal brush. I can’t wait to buy some rhinestones and try painting my own design next time!

New World Flushing Mall:

40-21 Main St, Flushing, NY 11354

(SW corner of Roosevelt and Main)

One thought on “Special Mani/Pedi

  1. Pingback: Nail Art at Sephora « accordingtomaria

Leave a Reply

