Dorayaki Experiment

So, I’ve posted before about how much I love Dorayaki, the sweet Japanese pancake dessert filled with sweet red bean. I especially like it when it comes in a fish shape, just because it’s so cute!

I read a recipe recently that looked pretty simple, so I decided to try making them myself. It was a lot of fun, and really quite simple, but mine didn’t turn out as fluffy as they are supposed to be. I think I either over-beat them, or added too much flour in my conversion from g to cups.

But either way, they were delicious, especially when they were still hot and the red bean filling was gooey and melting! I will definitely be trying this recipe again, so I thought I’d share it here with you. Let me know how yours turn out!

Dorayaki (Recipe from Masakan Istimewa’s Blog)

Ingredients:

  • 3 large eggs
  • 8 tbsp sugar
  • 5 tbsp milk
  • 2 tsp Honey
  • 180g self rising flour
  • Sweet red bean (you can buy this at an Asian Grocery store in a can)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. Beat eggs, and add in sugar. Mix well.
  2. Add honey and milk and mix.
  3. Sift in flour, slowly. Watch out for the texture…stop adding flour if it gets too thick!
  4. Cover with plastic wrap, and let sit for 30 minutes.
  5. Pan-fry in non-stick pan in desired shape (I made mine mini).
  6. Take two pancakes that are roughly the same shape and make a sandwich with the red bean as the filling.
  7. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

