Healthy Pancakes!

Although I’ve always loved traditional pancakes, they tend to sit in my stomach for the next few hours, making me feel heavy and sluggish. And since they’re mostly empty calories, I’d always get hungry again pretty soon after eating them. So I am constantly searching for healthy pancake recipes, so I can enjoy one of my favorite breakfasts and still feel great afterwards!

I’ve tried numerous combinations for healthy pancakes: oats, yogurt, almond flour…etc. Some of them turned out pretty tasty, but really lacked in the fluffy texture of pancakes. And, they were impossible to cook without burning or making a mess!

But I can honestly say today, that I found the best nutritious pancake recipe I’ve tried so far! I found it on the P90 x newsletter, and modified it a bit to the ingredients I had at home. The batter looked a little wet, so I added a tiny bit extra flour. Here’s my version of the recipe:

  • 1/2 cup 1% cottage cheese
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup oat flour and 1/4 cup soy flour
  • 1/8 cup vegetable oil
  • Pinch of salt
  • Dash of vanilla extract
  • 1/8 cup soy milk

Blend these ingredients until smooth, and then add the milk and cook on the pan. You won’t even need much oil at all to fry the pancakes! I ate mine with fresh fruit, honey, and Greek yogurt. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

