Taiyaki: Attempt #1

You may remember my previous posts on dorayaki, a Japanese pancake-like dessert filled with red bean. Taiyaki is the same thing, but in the shape of a fish! This morning I attempted to make taiyaki with a new mold I got as a present (thanks, Mom!)

I tried a recipe I found online for a simple pancake, but I’ll have to adjust it a little because it wasn’t sweet enough for me.

Here’s the basic recipe:

  • 2/3 cups flour (I might use cake flour or maybe a Japanese blend next time to make it more fluffy)
  • 3/4 cups soy milk
  • 2.5 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • Matcha powder: I added a little of this to the last few and it made them extra delicious!
  • oil for pan: I discovered the need for a pastry brush to put oil on the pan so the cakes don’t get too oily

The cakes were very tasty, but they didn’t look as pretty as I wanted. They seem to be best right when they come out of the pan, similar to traditional pancakes, but I’d like to find a batter that makes them more fluffy and less limp when they cool.

Stay tuned for the next attempt!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

