Sweet/Salty Craving

I can never get enough of the sweet and salty flavor. It’s something I constantly crave at any time of day, and it’s one of the reasons I love combinations like chicken and waffles, peanut-butter and jelly, kettle corn…the list goes on. Today I tried out a sweet and salty recipe from renowned  pastry-chef of Momofuku Milk Bar, Christina Tosi.

**By the way, Momofuku Milk Bar just opened a location on the Upper West Side, so I’ll be visiting soon and sampling all their delicious goodies! Don’t worry, I’ll post some pictures so you can see 😉 **

This recipe is the perfect snack (as long as you don’t let yourself eat the whole thing at once!) You will have trouble just eating a little. I even ate quite a bit before I was finished making it. Ooops!

I adjusted the original recipe a little bit to what I had in my kitchen and to reduce the butter, and it still turned out great, so I think this recipe can be easily changed to include your favorite treats! Here’s my version:

Sweet/Salty Mix

  • 2 cups broken mini pretzels
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 package french vanilla cocoa mix
  • 3 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • Reeses pieces, chocolate bar chunks, nuts, and broken cookie pieces (use whatever you love!)

Combine sugars, cocoa mix,  and melted butter in a bowl. Mix in pretzels and bake at 275 degrees for about 20 minutes. Cool completely, and mix in your favorite candies.

I think it pairs perfectly with a coffee, so you can also add a little espresso powder or instant coffee to your sugar mix. I bet candy corn would be a nice addition too. I guess I’ll have to do another batch…

Leave a Reply

