Chinese Rice Porridge

This morning I was feeling rather ambitious (probably because of post-workout energy!) so I actually cooked breakfast instead of preparing something simple. We had some leftover chicken breasts and rice, so my first thought was to make a savory rice porridge. I’ve never actually made my own congee, so I adjusted as I was cooking to mimic the flavors I remember tasting in Flushing. Then I topped the porridge with a bunch of goodies from the fridge…delicious! It was a nice change from my oatmeal, and it was loaded with protein for a nutritious breakfast!

Chicken Congee:

  • Soup:
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3/4 cup cooked rice
  • 1/3 lb chicken (cubed or shredded)
  • 2 eggs
  • Seasoning:
  • salt/pepper
  • fish sauce
  • dark soy sauce
  • sesame oil
  • ginger

Toppings:

  • salted tofu
  • cilantro
  • pickled radish
  • spicy bean paste

Directions:

Bring water and chicken stock to a boil. Add chicken and simmer until cooked (about 20 minutes). Add rice and seasonings and continue to stir until you’ve reached the desired consistency. Quickly stir in eggs and cook for a minute or so. Pour into bowl and add toppings!

Leave a Reply

