Almond Tea Cake

I love when I have an excuse to bake a cake! I feel like I need a special occasion to make a whole cake because I definitely don’t want an entire cake sitting in my kitchen staring at me, waiting to be eaten! Sharing is always better, anyway because then more people get to enjoy.

So because it is such a rare thing for me to bake a cake, when I do get the opportunity, I look high and low for the best recipe I can find. Lately I’ve been into cakes without frosting, because they’re much lighter and don’t leave you with a heavy stomach (and guilty feeling) when you’re done eating. And my occasion to bake a cake was my friend’s birthday, it had to be something she would love, so I chose this almond cake recipe.

It’s really simple to make, and turned out so light and delicious. The orange peel added another layer to the tastes that was unexpected and wonderful. The cake is perfect with a cup of coffee or tea after dinner, or as an afternoon treat! I bet they’d be cute in cupcake form as well for a little tea party.

Here’s my (slightly healthier) version of the recipe:

Almond Tea Cake

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 stick margarine, at room temperature
  • ½ cup soy milk, at room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • Grated peel of 1 orange
  • ½ cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup soy flour
  • 1/2 cup AP flour
  • 1½ teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup sliced almonds
  • Confectioners’ sugar, for sprinkling

Combine and beat wet ingredients with the almond flour and orange peel until smooth. Sift flour and salt over wet mixture until just combined. Pour into round pan (or cupcake tins) and sprinkle almond slivers on top. Bake at 325 degrees for about 45 minutes, or until golden brown on top. Let cool and sift confectioners’ sugar on top before serving. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

